Fiction

The Stars Are Legion

Author: Kameron Hurley

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 215

A Kirkus Reviews Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Selection of 2017 “[A] thought-provoking space opera.” —Kirkus Reviews “One of the most unusual and powerfully disturbing space operas we’re likely to see this year.” —Chicago Tribune Set within a system of decaying world-ships travelling through deep space, this breakout novel of epic science fiction follows a pair of sisters who must wrest control of their war-torn legion of worlds—and may have to destroy everything they know in order to survive. Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. Here in the darkness, a war for control of the Legion has been waged for generations, with no clear resolution. Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say there are her family. She is told she is their salvation, the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan’s new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion’s gravity well to the very belly of the world. In the tradition of Iain M. Banks’s Culture novels and Roger Zelazny’s Chronicles of Amber, Kameron Hurley has created an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of our most celebrated new writers.
Fiction

The Light Brigade

Author: Kameron Hurley

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 302

From the Hugo Award­­–winning author of The Stars Are Legion comes a brand-new science fiction thriller about a futuristic war during which soldiers are broken down into light in order to get them to the front lines on Mars. They said the war would turn us into light. I wanted to be counted among the heroes who gave us this better world. The Light Brigade: it’s what soldiers fighting the war against Mars call the ones who come back…different. Grunts in the corporate corps get busted down into light to travel to and from interplanetary battlefronts. Everyone is changed by what the corps must do in order to break them down into light. Those who survive learn to stick to the mission brief—no matter what actually happens during combat. Dietz, a fresh recruit in the infantry, begins to experience combat drops that don’t sync up with the platoon’s. And Dietz’s bad drops tell a story of the war that’s not at all what the corporate brass want the soldiers to think is going on. Is Dietz really experiencing the war differently, or is it combat madness? Trying to untangle memory from mission brief and survive with sanity intact, Dietz is ready to become a hero—or maybe a villain; in war it’s hard to tell the difference. A worthy successor to classic stories like Downbelow Station, Starship Troopers, and The Forever War, The Light Brigade is award-winning author Kameron Hurley’s gritty time-bending take on the future of war.
Fiction

Apocalypse Nyx

Author: Kameron Hurley

Publisher: Tachyon Publications

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 339

"You're going to love Nyx . . . she makes Han Solo look like a Boy Scout.”—io9 Ex-government assassin turned bounty-hunter, Nyx, is good at solving other people’s problems. Her favorite problem-solving solution is punching people in the face. Then maybe chopping off some heads. Hey—it’s a living. Nyx's disreputable reputation has been well earned. After all, she’s trying to navigate an apocalyptic world full of giant bugs, contaminated deserts, scheming magicians, and a centuries-long war that’s consuming her future. Managing her ragtag squad of misfits has required a lot of morally-gray choices. Every new job is another day alive. Every new mission is another step toward changing a hellish future—but only if she can survive.
Fiction

Meet Me in the Future: Stories

Author: Kameron Hurley

Publisher: Tachyon Publications

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 563

“One of the best story collections of the past few years.” —Booklist, starred review “16 hard-edged pieces that gleam like gems in a mosaic.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review “Kameron Hurley is a badass.” —Annalee Newitz, author of Autonomous When renegade author Kameron Hurley (The Light Brigade; The Stars Are Legion) takes you to the future, be prepared for the unexpected. Yes, it will be dangerous, frequently brutal, and often devastating. But it’s also savagely funny, deliriously strange, and absolutely brimming with adventure. In these edgy, unexpected tales, a body-hopping mercenary avenges his pet elephant, and an orphan falls in love with a sentient starship. Fighters ally to power a reality-bending engine, and a swamp-dwelling introvert tries to save the world—from her plague-casting former wife. So come meet Kameron Hurley in the future. The version she's created here is weirder—and far more hopeful—than you could ever imagine.
Religion

The Star of the Magi

Author: Courtney Roberts

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 420

View: 727

Religion

American Tricksters

Author: William J. Jackson

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 292

View: 525

Tricksters are known by their deeds. Obviously not all the examples in American Tricksters are full-blown mythological tricksters like Coyote, Raven, or the Two Brothers found in Native American stories, or superhuman figures like the larger-than-life Davy Crockett of nineteenth-century tales. Newer expressions of trickiness do share some qualities with the Trickster archetype seen in myths. Rock stars who break taboos and get away with it, heroes who overcome monstrous circumstances, crafty folk who find a way to survive and thrive when the odds are against them, men making spectacles of themselves by feeding their astounding appetites in public--all have some trickster qualities. Each person, every living creature who ever faced an obstacle and needed to get around it, has found the built-in trickster impulse. Impasses turn the trickster gene on, or stimulate the trick-performing imagination--that's life. To explore the ways and means of trickster maneuvers can alert us to pitfalls, help us appreciate tricks that are entertaining, and aid us in fending off ploys which drain our resources and ruin our lives. Knowing more about the Trickster archetype in our psyches helps us be more self-aware.
Science

Neutron Stars 1

Author: P. Haensel

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 620

View: 594

The book gives an extended review of theoretical and observational aspects of neutron star physics. With masses comparable to that of the Sun and radii of about ten kilometres, neutron stars are the densest stars in the Universe. This book describes all layers of neutron stars, from the surface to the core, with the emphasis on their structure and equation of state. Theories of dense matter are reviewed, and used to construct neutron star models. Hypothetical strange quark stars and possible exotic phases in neutron star cores are also discussed. Also covered are the effects of strong magnetic fields in neutron star envelopes.
Fiction

Empire Ascendant

Author: Kameron Hurley

Publisher: Angry Robot, Limited

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 415

"Loyalties are tested when worlds collide " Every two thousand years, the dark star Oma appears in the sky, bringing with it a tide of death and destruction. And those who survive must contend with friends and enemies newly imbued with violent powers.The kingdom of Saiduan already lies in ruin, decimated by invaders from another world who share the faces of those they seek to destroy. Now the nation of Dhai is under siege by the same force. Their only hope for survival lies in the hands of an illegitimate ruler and a scullery maid with a powerful but unpredictable magic.As the foreign Empire spreads across the world like a disease, one of their former allies takes up her Empress s sword again to unseat them, and two enslaved scholars begin a treacherous journey home with a long-lost secret that they hope is the key to the Empire s undoing. But when the enemy shares your own face, who can be trusted? In this devastating sequel to"The Mirror Empire," Kameron Hurley transports us back to a land of blood mages and sentient plants, dark magic, and warfare on a scale that spans worlds. "File Under" Fantasy Empire on Fire - Duplicates at War - The Royal Exchange - All Will Fall ]"
Science

Ravens in Winter

Author: Bernd Heinrich

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 400

View: 266

“One of the most interesting discoveries I’ve seen in animal sociobiology in years.” —E.O. Wilson Why do ravens, generally understood to be solitary creatures, share food between each other during winter? On the surface, there didn’t appear to be any biological or evolutionary imperative behind the raven’s willingness to share. The more Bernd Heinrich observed their habits, the more odd the bird’s behavior became. What started as mere curiosity turned into an impassioned research project, and Ravens In Winter, the first research of its kind, explores the fascinating biological puzzle of the raven’s rather unconventional social habits. “Bernd Heinrich is no ordinary biologist. He’s the sort who combines formidable scientific rigor with a sense of irony and an unslaked, boyish enthusiasm for his subject, and who even at his current professorial age seems to do a lot of tree climbing in the line of research.” —David Quammen, The New York Times
Sports & Recreation

Bunts

Author: George F. Will

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 352

View: 721

A collection of essays on America's national pastime includes thoughts on the "big bang" style of baseball in the 1950s, reviews of books on Pete Rose and Ted Williams, and a eulogy for Curt Flood