Fiction

The Right Place at the Wrong Time

Author: Richard Baxter

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 517

Rejected by his wife Alice, day trader and suburban father Jack Smith jumps at the chance to manage a yuppie condominium in Seattle, light-years from the burbs. A melange of colorful characters welcomes him and fortune smiles with an unanticipated promise of a rebound romance. Suddenly it all comes unraveled with the first in a series of murders, creating fear and suspicion. Bombastic brainstorming sessions, full of innuendo based less on evidence than clashing personalities, follow. Who will be next? Wild speculations become absurd with each new killing. Clearly this close-knit group is in someone's crosshairs. Is the perp mad or cunning? Is there something one or all of them did to set him or her off? Pondering this question Jack is tormented with guilt over the first murder. On the edge of sanity he contemplates flight-or would Alice, grown distant in her new life, take him back? What about the safety of his family if some nut has it in for him? What price must these yuppie homeowners pay before the killer is caught? Or...! Will this one simply go away like some serial killers from the past? Not likely!"
Biography & Autobiography

The Wrong Stuff

Author: Truman Smith

Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 378

Between April and July 1944, Truman Smith Flew thirty-five bombing missions over France and Germany. He was only twenty years old. Although barely adults, Smith and his peers worried about cramming a lifetime’s worth of experience into every free night, each knowing he probably would not survive the next bombing mission. Written with blunt honesty, wry humor, and insight, The Wrong Stuff is Smith’s gripping memoir of that time. In a new preface, the author comments with equal honesty and humor on the impact this book has had on his life.
Religion

WisdomWalks

Author: Dan Britton

Publisher: BroadStreet Publishing Group LLC

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 926

Want a purposeful life packed with mission and meaning? WisdomWalks will ignite your passion to walk like Jesus in all of lifes moments and spark a deeper journey of impact and influence. WisdomWalks is a real-life guide for walking purposefully with God, engaging the next generation, and living the life of significance you were created for. Filled with forty intentional, spiritual, life-changing connections, Wisdom Walks will inspire and challenge you to live a powerful life to love unconditionally, walk with integrity, make a difference in the lives of others, and do greater things than you ever imagined. Don t miss out on the adventure of a lifetime!
Fiction

The History of Man's Future

Author: Daniel Ontengco Jr.

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 294

View: 720

There was once a man who wanted to be more than he was. Even though the man had a heartbroken soul, he hoped that one day he would again have a chance to prove himself. In time, the man got his chance when alien invaders attacked his homeland, Earth. In response, he went on an epic journey through space and his own mind and eventually discovered the secret to the origins of mankind. With his newfound knowledge and powers, the man learned that the meaning of life is to be as selfless as possible. In his quest to save the world, he was forced to overcome great hardships. Eventually, this man of the future became a true hero. Adversity did not build his character, it revealed it. This is his story.
Fiction

An Escape

Author: Teresa L. Jones

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 184

View: 687

My best friend, Josy, had asked me to write a story about a secret she had been keeping for years. I have changed some names to protect the innocent, and the guilty from being held liable. Josy and her family went on a festive Hawaiian cruise for Thanksgiving. They were surprised to hear that one of the most famous celebrities in Hollywood was going to be promoting his newest movie by performing a show. The smiles of a family vacation were shattered when Josy received a viscious injury while lounging at the pool. The ship's security needed to find the answers for Josy, her family, and the passengers on the ship. While recuperating in her state-room, Josy saw what looked to be a baby being thrown into the ocean. Josy’s mothering instinct made her jump into the ocean to save the child. The Hollywood celebrity was walking though the passageway near Josy's door and heard her cries for help, and was soon to participate in the role and adventure of a lifetime.
Fiction

Children of Time (The After Cilmeri Series Book 4)

Author: Sarah Woodbury

Publisher: The Morgan-Stanwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 437

November 1288. Bereft of a king or rightful heir, England hurtles towards civil war for the second time in a generation. When David, Prince of Wales, and his wife, Lili, travel to London to attend the wedding of William de Bohun and Princess Joan, they have no intention of involving themselves in local politics. But as infighting leads to murder, David and Lili find themselves at the center of a far-reaching conspiracy. Trapped between history and legend, they must decide how much they are willing to sacrifice to save not only their own country, but the people of England as well. Meanwhile, back in Wales, Llywelyn and Meg discover that time is no barrier to either adventure or trouble Children of Time, book four in the After Cilmeri series, continues the story of Llywelyn, Meg, and their children in the medieval kingdom of Wales.
Fiction

Lemon Meringue Pie Murder (Hannah Swensen Mysteries, Book 4)

Author: Joanne Fluke

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 795

Fourth of July celebrations are well underway, but fireworks are already going off at Hannah Swensen's bakery... A time of celebration ends in tragedy in Lemon Meringue Pie Murder, the fourth Hannah Swensen mystery from acclaimed writer Joanne Fluke. Packed full of delicious recipes and perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton and Leslie Meier. 'Fun... a delightful mystery' - Times Record News It's summer in Lake Eden, Minnesota, and Hannah Swensen, owner of The Cookie Jar bakery, is looking forward to her younger sister coming to stay. But before the family reunion can begin, disaster strikes when Hannah discovers the body of a local resident in a neighbour's basement. The only clue is one of Hannah's luscious lemon meringue pies, left on the kitchen counter with a slice missing. But from the looks of the victim's kitchen, she was planning an intimate dinner for two... Can Hannah track down the killer with a sweet tooth? What readers are saying about Lemon Meringue Pie Murder: 'What more could you want from a cosy crime novel?' 'I sat down and read it in one sitting - just couldn't put it down' 'Five stars'
Fiction

Up a Tree in the Park at Night with a Hedgehog

Author: Paul Robert Smith

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 227

Benton Kirby is in a spot of bother... His life hasn't exactly gone to plan. This is hardly surprising, however, as he never really had one in the first place. Armed with a philosophy degree, a dead fiancé, a brother who drives Death around London in his black cab, and a girlfriend with a history of suicidal pets, Benton - ambitionless and emotionally disengaged - embarks, for no apparent reason, on an affair with a beautiful, sexually adventurous, Korean virgin. Following a strange snowballing of even stranger events, he finds himself, at last, exactly not where he ever imagined he would be, up a tree at night in the park with a hedgehog...
Fiction

Keeping It Together

Author: Rhonda Cotton

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 96

View: 593

Realizing denial is difficult when determining what needs to be done to start over after a famine season. Writing a vision and staying focused helps as the Lord opens doors that reveal His plan. Struggling against spirit and flesh raises the question of whether or not one is faithful or foolish concerning the things of God. Deciding whether to handle life challenges or shake it off are factors to consider when taking an inventory of life; and having a desire for restoration. Through fasting and prayer, asking The Lord for forgiveness helps stop the crying during a season of famine.
Music

The Twisted Tale of Glam Rock

Author: Stuart Lenig

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 175

View: 703

Covering four decades of music history, this engaging book explores a genre of pop music that has been overlooked, under-reported, and ineffectively characterized—but which nevertheless remains immensely popular. • 10 images of prominent performers and groups from the history of glam • A list of the top glam songs from each decade, chosen for their relationship to core glam concerns of identity, media, technology, theatricality, and gender issues