Fiction

Time Passes Time

Author: Mary Wood

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 378

View: 767

It is 1941, and the world is at war. Young Theresa Compton is left devastated after giving up her illegitimate child and joins the Special Operations Executive, an organisation of undercover agents working behind enemy lines. Her mission is to assist a Resistance group run by the handsome Pierre Reuben and it is not long before they fall in love. Soon Theresa becomes pregnant but circumstances tear Pierre and the child from Theresa. In London, 1963, an older Theresa is haunted by her experiences during the war. In her damaged mind, the past tangles with the present and Theresa soon feels she has to make a terrifying decision. Her long-lost children are seeking answers. Will Theresa be reunited with them, before it's too late? Part of the Breckton Novels, Time Passes Time is a thrilling and emotive saga by Mary Wood. Time Passes Time is perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson, Nadine Dorries and Lily Baxter.
Science

Warmth Disperses and Time Passes

Author: Hans Christian Von Baeyer

Publisher: Modern Library (Paperback)

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 207

View: 665

Focusing on the life of James Clerk Maxwell, a pioneer in the field of thermodynamics, an award-winning science writer shows how the physics of heat can explain the behavior of energy, time, and the physical world. Originally published as Maxwell's Demon. Reprint. 15,000 first printing.
Science

In Search of a Theory of Everything

Author: Demetris Nicolaides

Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 186

View: 410

"In Search of a Theory of Everything is an adventurous journey in space and time in search of a unified "theory of everything" (TOE) by means of a rare and agile interplay between the natural philosophies of influential ancient Greek thinkers and the laws of modern physics. For a TOE, all the phenomena of nature share a subtle underlying commonality and are explainable by a single overarching immutable principle. Reading the past for what it is, is of tremendous value, but so is its reading from the perspective of modern knowledge. Not to judge it for its flaws but to be inspired by its insights. This comparative study of the universe is the spirit of In Search of a Theory of Everything-to physics through philosophy, to the new via the old, and in a balanced way. A relatively "easier" analysis of nature, that of a major natural philosopher of antiquity, commences every chapter to fasten the bedrock for the more complex. The transition into the more complicated views of modern physics is gradual and systematic, entwining finely the two, the ancient with the new, the forgotten with the current, by unfolding a history and a philosophy of science, and connecting all the great feats of the mind and time. Those philosophers had ideas that resonate with aspects of modern science; puzzles that still baffle; and rationales that can be used to reassess completely anew fundamental but competing principles of modern physics, even to speculate about open physics problems. In Search of a Theory of Everything is a new kind of sight, is a philosophical insight of modern physics"--
History

Long Time Passing

Author: Susan Galleymore

Publisher: Pluto Press (UK)

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 276

View: 395

Chronicles how a mother's visit with her son at a military base in Iraq leads to a journey around the world to interview mothers of soldiers about their experiences.
American poetry

As Time Passes

Author: Brenden Daniel

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category: American poetry

Page: 154

View: 961

as time passes is a collection of poetry that follows one young couple on their intertwined journeys through love, heartache & resiliency. They take turns advancing the story from a personal point of view, each with their own unique voice and writing style, allowing this work to cleverly capture common differences and similarities between the genders in modern relationships. Anyone who has ever loved or ever lost will find many pieces that speak to them in as time passes.
Philosophy

A Companion to the Philosophy of Time

Author: Adrian Bardon

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 600

View: 394

A Companion to the Philosophy of Time presents the broadest treatment of this subject yet; 32 specially commissioned articles - written by an international line-up of experts – provide an unparalleled reference work for students and specialists alike in this exciting field. The most comprehensive reference work on the philosophy of time currently available The first collection to tackle the historical development of the philosophy of time in addition to covering contemporary work Provides a tripartite approach in its organization, covering history of the philosophy of time, time as a feature of the physical world, and time as a feature of experience Includes contributions from both distinguished, well-established scholars and rising stars in the field
Philosophy

A Brief History of the Philosophy of Time

Author: Adrian Bardon

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 200

View: 997

Adrian Bardon's A Brief History of the Philosophy of Time is a short introduction to the history, philosophy, and science of the study of time-from the pre-Socratic philosophers through Einstein and beyond. A Brief History of the Philosophy of Time covers subjects such as time and change, the experience of time, physical and metaphysical approaches to the nature of time, the direction of time, time travel, time and freedom of the will, and scientific and philosophical approaches to eternity and the beginning of time. Bardon employs helpful illustrations and keeps technical language to a minimum in bringing the resources of over 2500 years of philosophy and science to bear on some of humanity's most fundamental and enduring questions.
Brain

Brain

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Brain

Page:

View: 410

Aimed at researchers and clinicians, this journal of neurology balances studies in neurological science with practical clinical articles.
Proverbs

The Salt-cellars

Author: Charles Haddon Spurgeon

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Proverbs

Page:

View: 806

Religion

Time, Eternity, and the Trinity

Author: Eunsoo Kim

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 376

View: 150

One of the vital issues in contemporary Christian theology is the problem of a renewed understanding of God's eternity and its relation to time. This is not merely a peripheral doctrinal issue, but lies at the heart of our understanding of God and humanity, and contributes to our entire worldview. This study focuses on a long-standing debate between two competing views on God's eternity: one focused on God's absolute timelessness in classical theism, and the other on God's temporal everlastingness in contemporary panentheism. In contrast to both of these well-worn options, this book presents an alternative Trinitarian analogical understanding of God's eternity and its relation to time, especially through a critical reflection on Karl Barth's and Hans Urs von Balthasar's engagement of the issue. This analogical approach, based on the dynamic and dramatic concepts of God's being-in-relation and of the Triune God's communicative action in eternity and time, has the potential to resolve the debate between absolute timeless eternity and temporal everlasting duration.
Science

The Textures of Time

Author: Michael G. Flaherty

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 180

View: 760

A thoughtful exploration of time and how we make it do our bidding
Mathematics

Leveled Texts: Measuring Time

Author: Christi Sorell

Publisher: Teacher Created Materials

ISBN:

Category: Mathematics

Page: 9

View: 557

All students can learn about measuring time through text written at four different reading levels. Symbols on the pages represent reading-level ranges to help differentiate instruction. Provided comprehension questions complement the text.