Fiction

Tower of Thorns: Blackthorn and Grim 2

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Macmillan Publishers Aus.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 861

The second book in the thrilling Blackthorn and Grim series, sequel to the award-winning Dreamer's Pool, from the author of Shadowfell and the Sevenwaters series. "A new book by Juliet Marillier is always a cause for celebration" Kate Forsyth Disillusioned healer Blackthorn and her companion Grim have settled quietly in Dalriada to wait out the seven years of Blackthorn's bond to her fey mentor. But trouble has a way of seeking out Blackthorn and Grim. Lady Geiléis, a noblewoman from the northern border, has asked for the prince of Dalriada's help in expelling a howling creature from an old tower on her land - one surrounded by an impenetrable hedge of thorns. Casting a blight over the entire district, and impossible to drive out by ordinary means, the mysterious presence threatens both the safety and the sanity of all who live nearby. As Blackthorn and Grim begin to put the pieces of the puzzle together, it becomes clear that a powerful adversary is at work. Their quest is about to become a life and death struggle - where even the closest of friends can find themselves on opposite sides. PRAISE FOR JULIET MARILLIER "Juliet Marillier is a fine fantasy writer." Anne McCaffrey Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.
Fiction

Tower of Thorns

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 156

Award-winning author Juliet Marillier’s “lavishly detailed”(Publishers Weekly) Blackthorn & Grim series continues as a mysterious creature holds ancient Ireland in thrall... Disillusioned healer Blackthorn and her companion, Grim, have settled in Dalriada to wait out the seven years of Blackthorn’s bond to her fey mentor, hoping to avoid any dire challenges. But trouble has a way of seeking them out. A noblewoman asks for the prince of Dalriada’s help in expelling a creature who threatens the safety and sanity of all who live nearby from an old tower on her land—one surrounded by an impenetrable hedge of thorns. With no ready solutions to offer, the prince consults Blackthorn and Grim. As Blackthorn and Grim put the pieces of this puzzle together, it’s apparent that a powerful adversary is working behind the scenes. Their quest soon becomes a life-and-death struggle—a conflict in which even the closest of friends can find themselves on opposite sides.
Fiction

Den of Wolves

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 906

The “powerful and emotionally-charged”* fantasy series from the author of the Sevenwaters novels continues, as Blackthorn and Grim face haunting secrets and old adversaries... Feather bright and feather fine, None shall harm this child of mine... Healer Blackthorn knows all too well the rules of her bond to the fey: seek no vengeance, help any who ask, do only good. But after the recent ordeal she and her companion, Grim, have suffered, she knows she cannot let go of her quest to bring justice to the man who ruined her life. Despite her personal struggles, Blackthorn agrees to help the princess of Dalriada in taking care of a troubled young girl who has recently been brought to court, while Grim is sent to the girl’s home at Wolf Glen to aid her wealthy father with a strange task—repairing a broken-down house deep in the woods. It doesn’t take Grim long to realize that everything in Wolf Glen is not as it seems—the place is full of perilous secrets and deadly lies... Back at Winterfalls, the evil touch of Blackthorn’s sworn enemy reopens old wounds and fuels her long-simmering passion for justice. With danger on two fronts, Blackthorn and Grim are faced with a heartbreaking choice—to stand once again by each other’s side or to fight their battles alone...
Fiction

Blackthorn Winter

Author: Carol Townend

Publisher: eBook Partnership

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 370

View: 745

The second book in an involving and heart-rending series about a family feud in twelfth century Brittany.Arlette de Roncier, the young and innocent daughter of Count Francois de Roncier, one of the most ruthless nobles in Brittany, agrees to an arranged marriage in faraway Aquitaine. She has no idea that her father's greed for a few acres of family land has led him to murder his own flesh and blood. Arlette is sent to meet her betrothed, unaware that one of the men in her entourage, Gwionn Leclerc, is in truth her distant cousin, Raymond Herevi.Raymond has seen his family destroyed by Count Francois and is out for revenge. In Arlette he thinks he has found the perfect scapegoat...This story is not a traditional romance, but a richly detailed evocation of living and loving in the middle ages. First published by Headline in 1993, it has been revised and given a less ambiguous ending.
English literature

London Society

Author: James Hogg

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English literature

Page:

View: 742

New Hampshire

The Granite Monthly

Author: Henry Harrison Metcalf

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: New Hampshire

Page:

View: 973

London (England)

AZ London Street Atlas

Author: Geographers' A-Z Map Company

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: London (England)

Page: 296

View: 692