History

Waiting for the Dawn

Author: Zongxi Huang

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 340

View: 388

Since the time of Confucius and Mencius, no other work has stood out so clearly as a major critique of Chinese dynastic institutions. In a lucid translation with a helpful introduction by de Bary, this is the most powerful affirmation of a liberal Confucian political vision in premodern times.
Biography & Autobiography

Waiting for the Dawn

Author: Mircea Eliade

Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 173

View: 684

First published in 1991, Waiting for the Dawn is the result of a year-long interdisciplinary study of Mircea Eliade's scholarly, literary, and autobiographical works which took place at the University of Colorado in 1982. With a preface by Davíd Carrasco that takes into account recent developments in Eliade scholarship, this important work is back in print after renewed interest in Eliade thanks to Francis Ford Coppola's screen adaptation Youth without Youth (2007).
Fiction

Waiting for Dawn

Author: Susan May Warren

Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 698

In this prequel to Flee the Night—the first book in Susan May Warren’s critically acclaimed Team Hope series—Lacey Galloway leads a rather predictable life as a contractor for the Department of Defense. But news that Sergeant First Class Jim Micah is missing in action leads her on a dangerous trek overseas to rescue the man who secretly captured her heart. Although her DOD connections quickly cut through the red tape, she also enlists the help of her ex-boyfriend and Micah’s best friend, Lieutenant John Montgomery. As they hatch a covert plan to find and rescue Micah, Lacey’s feelings are once again torn between the two men. Filled with romance and adventure, this twisty tale will hold you captive to the very last page.
Church and social problems

Waiting for the Dawn

Author: Erwin A. Britton

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Church and social problems

Page: 7

View: 604

Real estate business

Property

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Real estate business

Page: 40

View: 137

Fiction

Wait For The Dawn

Author: Jess Foley

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 198

Fans of Josephine Cox, Catherine Cookson and Dilly Court will absolutely love this emotionally charged and unmissable romantic saga of one woman's search for love and fulfilment from much loved author Jess Foley. 'An earthy tale of love, longing and tragedy' -- Swindon Evening Advertiser 'Dramatic and satisfying' -- Iris Gower 'Read it in one night, just could not put it down until it was finished' -- ***** Reader review 'A truly enchanting book' -- ***** Reader review 'I was totally gripped by this story' -- ***** Reader review 'A masterpiece' -- ***** Reader review ******************************************************************* ONE WOMAN'S SEARCH FOR A BRIGHTER FUTURE. BUT WILL SHE FIND PLEASURE OR PAIN? Faced with a future that holds little promise, Lydia Halley longs to leave home. But it is only after her mother's tragic death that she finally seizes her chance of freedom - a freedom she has yearned for all her life. Taking up lodgings in the bustling city of Redbury, she meets handsome stranger Guy Anderson and so begins a friendship which blossoms into love. Until one day a telegram from Italy brings devastating news for Guy and their passionate leave-taking has dramatic consequences for them both.
Korea (South)

Waiting for the Dawn

Author: Save the Soh Brothers Society

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Korea (South)

Page: 127

View: 137

History

Sources of East Asian Tradition: The modern period

Author: Wm. Theodore De Bary

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 1152

View: 780

In Sources of East Asian Tradition, Wm. Theodore de Bary offers a selection of essential readings from his immensely popular anthologies Sources of Chinese Tradition, Sources of Korean Tradition, and Sources of Japanese Tradition so readers can experience a concise but no less comprehensive portrait of the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of East Asia. Volume 2 covers major events from 1600 to the present, including the initial contact of China, Korea, and Japan with the West; nineteenth- and twentieth-century reform movements in China, along with the Nationalist and Communist revolutions; Korea's encounter with imperialist Japan; and the Meiji Restoration, the emergence of political parties and liberalism, and the Sino-Japanese and Russo-Japanese wars. De Bary maintains his trademark balance of source materials, including seminal readings in the areas of history, society, politics, education, philosophy, and religion, thereby continuing his own tradition of providing an exceptional resource for teachers, scholars, students, and the general reader.
Juvenile Fiction

Gorilla Dawn

Author: Gill Lewis

Publisher: Oxford University Press - Children

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page:

View: 370

The thrilling, heartbreaking, and inspirational new story from award-winning storyteller Gill Lewis. Deep in the heart of the African jungle, a baby gorilla is captured by a group of rebel soldiers. Imara and Bobo are two children also imprisoned in the rebels' camp. When they learn that the gorilla is destined to be sold into captivity, they swear to return it to the wild before it's too late. But the consequences of getting caught are too terrible to think about. Will the bond between the gorilla and the children give them the courage they need to escape?
Social Science

Shamans/neo-Shamans

Author: Robert J. Wallis

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 306

View: 140

Shamans and shamanisms are in vogue at present. In popular culture, such diverse characters as occultist Aleister Crowley, Doors musician Jim Morrison and performance artist Joseph Beuys have been termed shamans. The anthropological construct 'shamanism', on the other hand, has associations with sorcery, witchcraft and healing, and archaeologists have suggested the meaning of prehistoric cave art lies with shamans and altered consciousness. Robert J. Wallis explores the interface between 'new' (modern western), indigenous and prehistoric shamans, and assesses the implications for archaeologists, anthropologists, indigenous communities, heritage managers, and neo-Shamanic practitioners. Identifying key figures in neo-Shamanisms, including Mircea Eliade, Carlos Castaneda and Michael Harner, Wallis assesses the way in which 'traditional' practices have been transformed into 'western' ones, such as Castaneda's Don Juan teachings and Harner's core shamanism. The book draws on interviews and self-reflective insider ethnography with a variety of practitioners, particularly contemporary pagans in Britain and north America from druid and heathen traditions, to elucidate what shamans do.; Wallis looks at historical and archaeological sources to elucidate whether 'Celtic' and 'northern' shamanism may have existed; he explores contemporary pagan engagements with prehistoric sacred sites such as Stonehenge and Avebury, and discusses the controversial use by neo-Shamans of indigenous (particularly native American) shamanism. Rather than discuss neo-Shamans as inauthentic, invalid culture-stealers, Wallis offers a more detailed and complex appraisal. He makes it clear that scholars must be prepared to give up some of their hold over knowledge, and not only be aware of these neo-Shamanic approaches but also engage in a serious dialogue with such 'alternative' histories.
Young Adult Fiction

The Wrath & the Dawn

Author: Renée Ahdieh

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 416

View: 466

#1 New York Times Bestseller A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend. She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all. *The book is a Rough Cut Edition (pages are deliberately not the same length).*
History

Finding Wisdom in East Asian Classics

Author: William Theodore De Bary

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 418

View: 928

Finding Wisdom in East Asian Classics is an essential, all-access guide to the core texts of East Asian civilization and culture. Essays address frequently read, foundational texts in Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Vietnamese, as well as early modern fictional classics and nonfiction works of the seventeenth century. Building strong links between these writings and the critical traditions of Confucianism, Buddhism, and Daoism, this volume shows the vital role of the classics in the shaping of Asian history and in the development of the humanities at large. Wm. Theodore de Bary focuses on texts that have survived for centuries, if not millennia, through avid questioning and contestation. Recognized as perennial reflections on life and society, these works represent diverse historical periods and cultures and include the Analects of Confucius, Mencius, Laozi, Xunxi, the Lotus Sutra, Tang poetry, the Pillow Book, The Tale of Genji, and the writings of Chikamatsu and Kaibara Ekken. Contributors explain the core and most commonly understood aspects of these works and how they operate within their traditions. They trace their reach and reinvention throughout history and their ongoing relevance in modern life. With fresh interpretations of familiar readings, these essays inspire renewed appreciation and examination. In the case of some classics open to multiple interpretations, de Bary chooses two complementary essays from different contributors. Expanding on debates concerning the challenges of teaching classics in the twenty-first century, several pieces speak to the value of Asia in the core curriculum. Indispensable for early scholarship on Asia and the evolution of global civilization, Finding Wisdom in East Asian Classics helps one master the major texts of human thought.