Juvenile Nonfiction

Watermelon for Everyone

Author: Martha Rose Woodward

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 42

View: 259

Looks at the life cycle of watermelon from seed to harvest. Includes non-cook recipes using watermelon as well as lesson plans and teaching activities for teachers.
American wit and humor, Pictorial

In Hell-- Everyone Eats Watermelon Naked

Author: John Long

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American wit and humor, Pictorial

Page: 96

View: 905

The third entry in the popular Moos Brothers series. Long once again offers a wildly assorted menagerie featuring cows, dogs, flamingos--even the lowly potato--into clever cartoons that feature the offbeat humor and visual puns that have become his unique trademark.
Self-Help

The Experts' Guide to 100 Things Everyone Should Know How to Do

Author: Samantha Ettus

Publisher: Potter Style

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 336

View: 247

The simplest things are the hardest to master. From brewing your morning cup of coffee and reading the newspaper to apologizing or remembering names, it’s the small stuff that makes up day-to-day life. The Experts’ Guide to 100 Things Everyone Should Know How to Do provides unparalleled insights into how to do them better—more resourcefully, more effectively, and more efficiently—in 100 brief how-to essays by 100 of the world’s leading experts, including: • Interpersonal skills like how to Tell a Story by Ira Glass and Listen by Larry King • Etiquette essentials like how to Shake Hands by Letitia Baldrige, Set a Formal Table by Peggy Post, and Give and Receive a Compliment by Ms. Demeanor, Mary Mitchell • Home pointers such as how to Paint a Room by Bob Vila, Remove a Stain by Linda Cobb, the Queen of Clean, and Do Laundry by Heloise • Beauty basics that include how to Apply Lipstick by Bobbi Brown and Wash Your Hair by Frederic Fekkai • Cooking tips such as how to Bake Chocolate Chip Cookies by Mrs. Fields, Barbecue by Bobby Flay, and Make Eggs by Jean-Georges Vongerichten • Health hints like how to Breathe by Bikram Choudhury and Do Push-ups and Sit-ups by Kathy Smith • Athletic advice including how to Hit a Tennis Ball by Jennifer Capriati, Swing a Golf Club by Jim McLean, and Swim by Summer Sanders Some of these experts are household names, others are industry leaders—all are at the very top of their professions. From Holiday Inn’s housekeeper of the year (Make a Bed), the head groundskeeper of Fenway Park (Mow a Lawn), and the mayor of Buffalo (Shovel Snow) to the CEOs of Harry Winston (Buy a Diamond) and Thomas Pink (Tie a Windsor Knot), they are the authorities on their subjects. The Experts’ Guide to 100 Things Everyone Should Know How to Do brings together the best of the best, offering the world’s most valuable advice. With this book in hand, life will indeed be better.
Fiction

Take Along A Spring

Author: Tui NaYiSheng

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 666

With space in hand, the world is mine. If one day, you get a magical space, how will you start your alternative life? Having seen through the city's clichés, getting used to seeing pure Tian Wen's peaceful and plain, getting used to seeing Xuan Fantasy Immortal's calligraphy and acting cool and boring, come on, let this book give you a different experience! Note: This paper has a high IQ and likes to read brainless idiots.
Fiction

The Romantic Rural Doctor

Author: Nong MinGeGe

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 886

He was someone that everyone thought was down. No one knew that when they had forgotten about him, he was already so powerful that they could only look up to him.
Literary Criticism

Lost Names

Author: Richard E. Kim

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 224

View: 643

In this classic tale, Richard E. Kim paints seven vivid scenes from a boyhood and early adolescence in Korea at the height of the Japanese occupation, 1932 to 1945. Taking its title from the grim fact that the occupiers forced the Koreans to renounce their own names and adopt Japanese names instead, the book follows one Korean family through the Japanese occupation to the surrender of the Japanese empire. Lost Names is at once a loving memory of family and a vivid portrayal of life in a time of anguish.
Fiction

A Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible

Author: Christy Lefteri

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 627

A moving novel of love and war by the author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo It is July 1974 and on a bright, sunny morning, the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus. For many people, this means an end to life as they know it. But for some, it is a chance to begin living again. Everyone has always talked about Koki. They never believed she was her father's daughter and her mother died too soon to quiet their wagging tongues. And when she became pregnant and there was no sign of a husband, her fate was sealed. So she lives outside the town and hides from her neighbours' eyes. But, held captive with the very women who have made her life so lonely, Koki is finally able to tell them the truth. To talk of the Turkish shoe-maker who came to the town and took her heart away with him when he left. And how she has longed for him all these years. Meanwhile, Adem Berker finds himself back in Kyrenia, his former home, now as a member of the invading force. Here he left everything he ever wanted and, by cover of darkness, risking his life, he is searching every house, every cafe, every old pathway, for just a glimpse of the only woman he has ever loved. For readers of The Island, The Book Thief and The Kite Runner.
Buckaroo 500 (Television program)

Pom Pom

Author: Louis Schutter

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Buckaroo 500 (Television program)

Page: 160

View: 252

The story of Pom Pom, a trained horse, and the Nevada Youth Ranch, a working ranch for troubled youth. The ranch was the basis for the 1960's children's televsion program Buckaroo 500, which featured Pom Pom and other trained animals.
Biography & Autobiography

Contemporary Cat

Author: Anthony Magro

Publisher: Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press ; [New Jersey] : Institute of Jazz Studies, Rutgers--the State University of New Jersey

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 248

View: 117

"Terence Blanchard and his special guests make for an apt look at jazz's contemporary cats, their music, and their politics, while also providing a behind-the-scenes view of moviemaking in Hollywood."--BOOK JACKET.
Fiction

The Runaway Watermelon

Author: Rhea G. Madison James

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 30

View: 352

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: My name is Rhea G. Madison James. I was born on June 1, 2011, on the beautiful island of St. Thomas US Virgin Islands. I have one sibling named Ricky James Jr. I am a 3rd grade student who enjoys dancing, karate, tennis, and writing. I love to give and believe everyone should treat people the way they want to be treated. About the Illustrator Deja-Marie Simon is a high school student at the Virgin Islands Montessori School and Peter Gruber International Academy on St. Thomas USVI.From the age of four she started molding items out of clay and making dolly clothing out of fishing wire. She enjoys drawing, painting, and digital art. Her dream career is to become an Illustrator or an Art Director. This was her first illustration and she will continue to work with young authors to gain more experience.

Wylda the Watermelon Loves to Sing

Author: Tara Kozlick

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 30

View: 648

Wylda is a watermelon who loves to sing. The problem is that unfortunately not everyone loves her singing. This story teaches the great lesson that everyone deserves to be loved and accepted for who they are.
American wit and humor

Comic Belief

Author: Charles S. Lowery

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American wit and humor

Page: 224

View: 430

Cleveland (Ohio)

A Lost King

Author: Raymond DeCapite

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cleveland (Ohio)

Page: 213

View: 536

His mother is dead and his father is now ill. In order to please his father, he tries job after job, but is fired from every job. The only happiness in his life is Peggy.
Apatzingan, Mexico (District)

Excavations at Apatzingan

Author: Isabel Truesdell Kelly

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Apatzingan, Mexico (District)

Page: 227

View: 958

Fiction

Watermelon, a Fish and a Bible

Author: Christy Lefteri

Publisher: Quercus Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 469

It is July 1974 and on a bright, sunny morning, the Turkish army has invaded the town of Kyrenia in Cyprus. For many people, this means an end to life as they know it. But for some, it is a chance to begin living again.Everyone has always talked about Koki. They never believed she was her father's daughter and her mother died too soon to quiet their wagging tongues. And when she became pregnant and there was no sign of a husband, her fate was sealed.So she lives outside the town and hides from her neighbours eyes. But, held captive with the very women who have made her life so lonely, Koki is finally able to tell them the truth. To talk of the Turkish shoe-maker who came to the town and took her heart away with him when he left. And how she has longed for him all these years.Meanwhile, Adem Berker finds himself back in Kyrenia, his former home, now as a member of the invading force. Here he left everything he ever wanted and, by cover of darkness, risking his life, he is searching every house, every cafe, every old pathway, for just a glimpse of the only woman he has ever loved.